What do judo and a trip to the library have to do with finding myself with egg on my face yesterday, December 11?  Please allow me to explain.

With; a new job, a higher salary, and a need to spend less on gas since the job is closer to home, I figure I may have some more money in the wallet.  I’ve accounted for putting some of that into an IRA, but am not sure how much extra I may have.  One idea is to get back to training in a martial art of some sort.

The local YMCA sometimes offers judo classes and I wanted to know what I’d be getting into.  I decided to see what the library had on the subject, and found something at another branch that I had sent to the local branch.

After my shift at my job, and a quick stop to pick up a few groceries, I went to pick up a brief introduction to the style.  What do I see on the door, but this:

I think to myself “Only in America”, and snap a picture of it.

I put my groceries away and set down to listen to my high school alma mater play in the Pennsylvania State Football Semi-Finals.  The first quarter sets the tone for the game, with my alma mater moving up and down the field and keeping the opponent at bay, but being unable to convert any of it into points.

In the second quarter, we finally put a touchdown on the board and go into the half with a 6-0 lead.

The second half begins with our opposition retaking the lead on a touchdown and extra point, and my alma mater answering back with a touchdown of our own to enter the final quarter with a 12-7 lead.

In the fourth quarter, our opponent seems to seize the momentum.  Scoring two touchdowns to take a 21-12 lead with about four minutes to go.  After the second touchdown, I figure it’s over.  I post a message on a group for my alma mater congratulating the team on a great season.  And send a text message to my Mom saying that it was a great run.  With our basketball team being a favorite to make a return trip to the championships in March, I send a message that I may see them then.  Her response is ‘Now.’

My Mom is not fully text-enabled, and I figured she was saying ‘No’, asking me to not get ahead of myself.

As I’m surfing the web, I realize I still need to post the picture I had taken at the library, and go to Instagram to post it. There I see a picture that seems to indicate that we had rallied to win.  A few posts on Facebook seems to confirm this, and I finally decide to get a view from someone who was there.  A phone call to my Mom confirms that we did indeed rally and punch a ticket to the Pennsylvania Class ‘A’ State Football Finals on the 18th.  Nine months to the day that my alma mater played for a State Basketball championship.

What it looks like happened after I turned things off was that my alma mater managed to score on a 28 yard pass and a 76 yard pass; the last one with less than a minute left.

One thought on “Oh Me Of Little Faith. . .

Leave a Reply

