Airing ‘Dirty Laundry’

My hamper was bigger than the dryers in my complex, I had; an odd pair of socks, two sweatshirts, a pair of jeans and a T-shirt that needed to be dried.   I decided that I would take these clothes to a local laundromat.  While there, I saw a letter that a sales tax on laundromats is being proposed.

Now, I can see a sales tax on dry cleaning, as that can be passed on to the purchaser.  But to put a tax on the laundromats seems not only impractical, but a legitimate case of a tax truly hitting the poorer residents.

One patron did not seem amused, but much of her animus seemed directed at the poor, instead of those at the top.  The patron did not realize that the refusal of the Republicans in the State’s General Assembly to put taxes on gas extraction, etc is part of this standoff.  To help her out, I did point her to Rachael Maddow, the One People’s Project and The Rick Smith Show.

Leave a Reply

